Plot: And avoiding my suck dragon

The king died and then the queen died is a story. The king died, and then queen died of grief is a plot.
E. M. Forster

I’ve been missing something. At first, I thought it was characters that drew the audience. Now I know I’ve been missing my ending and with it the plot. The main issue begin the fate of my main character or co-main character.

You just snuck up on me out of nowhere!

I would really like for it to tidy itself up near the end and not leave a giant hole, but I’m afraid if I do that it will feel to neat and sown up giving the reader a bow for making it to the end.

Although, I do not know if this is really the problem after all. I’m fearful that by finishing this I will not have new ideas, even though I know (or part of me does) it is not the case.

When I look back at endings that I remember of books or stories, some of them had neat endings but for other the characters were changed, left to dangle in this universe that they had surrounded themselves with. So I’ve done my research, if there’s one thing I’m good at it’s google searches.

I’ve found some articles to read for my broken plot issues to ease or remove my dragon (plot) of suck.

Because when James Van Der Beek cries the world does. He does not appreciate my suck dragon.

8 steps for making a better plot outline

This next one really gets into my negative editor but here it is any way with suggestions of the following:
Don’t keep any “next step” which doesn’t:
A. advance the plot
B. deepen characterization
C. end with a hook that incites reader to read on
D. come as a natural progression of what’s been foreshadowed earlier
E. contain conflict
F. move characters either closer to or farther from their goals
G. contain logical, believable, and motivation

Ideas for other plot issues

The snowflake method not advocating that you buy the software but the logic for the process seems interesting and efficient. I also liked the spreadsheet with scene descriptions because I thought for a while that I could write them all down on a sheet of paper, but it turns out I need about 100 scenes for a decent novel…

Not sure this helped me but I’ll keep looking for help, I know we went over plot in creative writing class but…I never a story to be this long or this interesting, it was all very brooding and sad. Does that mean I’m growing up? Nah, probably not.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

